Alexandre Lacazette vs David De Gea
Should Arsenal have beaten Man United 3-2 on Wednesday night?
There was a big talking point in the final stages of the match at Old Trafford.
Gunners striker Alexandre Lacazette thought he’d scored a third goal for the visitors to claim all three points.
The incident unravelled as David De Gea held the ball in one hand in the Man United box.
Lacazette snuck up behind the United goalie, and he proceeded to head the ball out of De Gea’s hand.
Once the ball dropped to the deck, Lacazette stroked the ball into Man United’s empty net.
However the goal never stood.
Referee Andre Marriner made it clear very quickly that the goal was illegal.
Why Arsenal’s ‘goal’ vs Man United didn’t stand
It was left to former Premier League referee Phil Dowd to explain why Lacazette’s effort was chalked off.
Speaking on BT Sport, Dowd revealed that there’s been a rule change:
The law has changed, I don’t know when.
He is considered to be in control of the ball when he has it in both hands, one hand, his outstretched hand or between any other surface.
He has the ball in his hand, he is in control at all time and cannot be challenged. Therefore the foul was given.
Alexandre Lacazette unhappy with the Premier League
It’s also worth noting that the Premier League refused to award Arsenal’s second goal of the game to Alexandre Lacazette.
Instead the league marked the goal down as a Marcos Rojo own goal.
Lacazette revealed his frustrations to that decision on social media.
Really bro ? 🤔
— Alexandre Lacazette (@LacazetteAlex) December 6, 2018
Also see: Bad for Arsenal: Rob Holding & Aaron Ramsey injury updates after Man United.
Arsenal & Leicester establish ban precedent for Fellaini pulling Guendouzi’s hair.